Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 31

Thread: 0.40

  1. #1
    raiderfan
    raiderfan is offline
    raiderfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    bed of a truck
    Age
    21
    Posts
    215
    Country: United States

    Default 0.40

    do you have to be a donater or invited to get maps for 0.40 because mine don't show up
    Mopar or no car

  2. #2
    Nadeox1
    Nadeox1 is offline
    Nadeox1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Palermo, Sicily
    Age
    19
    Posts
    4,156
    Country: Italy

    Default Re: 0.40

    No?

    0.4 isn't avalaible yet (???).

    And you put the zips into Documents>Rigs of Rods 0.xx>packs (without extracting them!)

  3. one user found this post helpful: PenguinvilleBus1120
  4. #3
    The Neck
    The Neck is offline

    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    4,034
    Country: UK

    Default Re: 0.40

    Quote Originally Posted by Nadeox1 View Post
    No?

    0.4 isn't avalaible yet (???).

    And you put the zips into Documents>Rigs of Rods 0.xx>packs (without extracting them!)
    the maps for 0.40 are different than these ones

  5. #4
    Nadeox1
    Nadeox1 is offline
    Nadeox1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Palermo, Sicily
    Age
    19
    Posts
    4,156
    Country: Italy

    Default Re: 0.40

    Oh..the new terrain system, have no idea on how it works.

  6. #5
    Miura
    Miura is offline
    Miura's Avatar


    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Finland
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,230
    Country: Finland

    Default Re: 0.40

    Old maps don't work in 0.4 and there's only one released map for testing in the silver donator forum, so it's quite limited at the moment. Here's the map if you want to test. I turned off some of the features in the .otc file to make it run better. You can turn on normal, parallax and light maps there if it runs well.

  7. 3 users found this post helpful: HEMI, raiderfan, scania970
  8. #6
    Nadeox1
    Nadeox1 is offline
    Nadeox1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Palermo, Sicily
    Age
    19
    Posts
    4,156
    Country: Italy

    Default Re: 0.40

    WHAT?!? Old maps won't work, so my precious work was a waste of time?
    At least, it's possible to convert them?

    I'm curious to see the map, can you post a pic please?
    Last edited by Nadeox1; 08-11-12 at 01:38 PM.

  9. #7
    Miura
    Miura is offline
    Miura's Avatar


    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Finland
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,230
    Country: Finland

    Default Re: 0.40

    I don't know if the plan is to just update maps or have some backwards compatibility with old maps. Updating is not that hard, but it can't be done automatically since the old maps are done in a few different ways. Objects and settings can be transferred into the new formats easily, then you have to rearrange some textures and maybe make new ones (normal maps etc. if you want to use them). Some features don't work yet, but I'm sure they will be fixed before release.

    Screenshot from the test map:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	31-42.jpg 
Views:	706 
Size:	251.8 KB 
ID:	337039 

  10. 6 users found this post helpful: BBQ, Nadeox1, NorthCountry, bman777, redrobin, simpeligent
  11. #8
    NorthCountry
    NorthCountry is offline
    NorthCountry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    United States
    Age
    19
    Posts
    609
    Country: United States

    Default Re: 0.40

    Quote Originally Posted by Miura View Post
    I don't know if the plan is to just update maps or have some backwards compatibility with old maps. Updating is not that hard, but it can't be done automatically since the old maps are done in a few different ways. Objects and settings can be transferred into the new formats easily, then you have to rearrange some textures and maybe make new ones (normal maps etc. if you want to use them). Some features don't work yet, but I'm sure they will be fixed before release.

    Screenshot from the test map:
    Wow. That is a rather large piece of information that I didn't know... It does sound very good though, and I hope that the game has improved. Now I know where all of the time is going.
    Last edited by NorthCountry; 08-11-12 at 02:37 PM.

  12. #9
    khadner
    khadner is offline
    khadner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Seven Seas Dr, Orlando FL
    Age
    43
    Posts
    3,708
    Country: United States

    Default Re: 0.40

    So it will be like starting from scratch as far as terrains go? This does not sound good. Is this new terrain system going to impact FPS at all?
    "Is it that hard, to let the stance guys be stance guys, bus guys bus guys, truck guys truck guys, and so on?"
    -JoNill

  13. #10
    metalmuncher
    metalmuncher is offline
    metalmuncher's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    17
    Posts
    2,210
    Country: England

    Default Re: 0.40

    Hmm... any ideas? I had an old version of the map working before.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	screenshot_1.jpg 
Views:	252 
Size:	77.5 KB 
ID:	337041 
    i5 2400 | 8GB RAM | MSI GTX670 PE | ASUS P8P67-M PRO | Samsung HD103SJ, Crucial M4 128GB | Seasonic X-650KM3 | Fractal Arc Mini

  14. #11
    Miura
    Miura is offline
    Miura's Avatar


    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Finland
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,230
    Country: Finland

    Default Re: 0.40

    Quote Originally Posted by khadner View Post
    So it will be like starting from scratch as far as terrains go? This does not sound good. Is this new terrain system going to impact FPS at all?
    If you don't know how to use an image editor and Notepad, then you would have to wait for someone else to update the maps. Or just use an old version of RoR on the side for old maps.

    FPS depends on the detail used, I haven't tried comparing similar setups with an old version. There are more features available, so it's probably slower with all of them in use. On the other hand, they can be turned off easily for better performance. In some ways the new terrain system is more efficient. I have a map with a 4097 pixel heightmap, it crashed with out of memory in 0.38 and it was unplayable in 0.39, jammed my computer for minutes. In 0.4 it works quite well.

    The new system is not finished, which is why there are no other maps for it yet.


    Quote Originally Posted by metalmuncher View Post
    Hmm... any ideas? I had an old version of the map working before.
    Does clearing cache fix it? Maybe you have the cache file from the old version. I did some small changes to the map since the release, so some files are different.

  15. 2 users found this post helpful: khadner, metalmuncher
  16. #12
    Despair
    Despair is offline
    Despair's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    RV I travel MPnm: Despair
    Age
    25
    Posts
    52
    Country: United States

    Default Re: 0.40

    Quote Originally Posted by metalmuncher View Post
    Hmm... any ideas? I had an old version of the map working before.
    i'm no expert, but it looks like you're standing on a reeely big -stretched-out texture...mabey if yo change the texture name, and doble it over oto the rite & down it may show up smaller...idk
    [YouTube]COME & FIND ME ON THE SERVERS I'M Despair or D3z(10-13)

  17. #13
    metalmuncher
    metalmuncher is offline
    metalmuncher's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Age
    17
    Posts
    2,210
    Country: England

    Default Re: 0.40

    Quote Originally Posted by Miura View Post
    Does clearing cache fix it? Maybe you have the cache file from the old version. I did some small changes to the map since the release, so some files are different.
    Yeah that fixed it.
    i5 2400 | 8GB RAM | MSI GTX670 PE | ASUS P8P67-M PRO | Samsung HD103SJ, Crucial M4 128GB | Seasonic X-650KM3 | Fractal Arc Mini

  18. 08-11-12
    Tejdz

    Reason
    IDIOT MUCH?!

  19. 08-11-12
    w900

    Reason
    IDIOT MUCH?!

  20. #14
    Nadeox1
    Nadeox1 is offline
    Nadeox1's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Palermo, Sicily
    Age
    19
    Posts
    4,156
    Country: Italy

    Default Re: 0.40

    Anyway, if it's possible to convert a map from older version to terrn2, i guess i'm able to convert that map from terrn2 to terrn (old one, current in use).
    Last edited by tdev; 08-12-12 at 09:33 AM.

  21. 2 users found this post helpful: khadner, w900
  22. 08-11-12
    raiderfan


  23. 08-12-12
    Tejdz

    Reason
    IDIOT MUCH?!

  24. #15
    scania970
    scania970 is offline
    scania970's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Prato
    Posts
    1,259
    Country: Italy

    Default Re: 0.40

    i have test to "convert the file to terrn2 to terrn renaming it :P but it doesn't work

  25. #16
    raiderfan
    raiderfan is offline
    raiderfan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    bed of a truck
    Age
    21
    Posts
    215
    Country: United States

    Default Re: 0.40

    all my models like the character and vehicles are are a silver/blueish color?
    Mopar or no car

  26. #17
    stmslotcars
    stmslotcars is offline
    stmslotcars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Somewhere your not
    Age
    20
    Posts
    542
    Country: United States

    Default Re: 0.40

    I am using .39.5 and it does not show up...what do i do?
    I will sing of the LORD's great love forever; with my mouth I will make your faithfulness known through all generations. Psalm 89:1

  27. #18
    MICRACER
    MICRACER is offline

    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    2,840

    Default Re: 0.40

    Quote Originally Posted by stmslotcars View Post
    I am using .39.5 and it does not show up...what do i do?
    Map is not made for 39.5 it is for .4 it uses the new trrn2 files which are not compatable with version before .4

  28. #19
    stmslotcars
    stmslotcars is offline
    stmslotcars's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Somewhere your not
    Age
    20
    Posts
    542
    Country: United States

    Default Re: 0.40

    Quote Originally Posted by MICRACER View Post
    Map is not made for 39.5 it is for .4 it uses the new trrn2 files which are not compatable with version before .4
    Is there a way I can get .4?
    I will sing of the LORD's great love forever; with my mouth I will make your faithfulness known through all generations. Psalm 89:1

  29. #20
    w900
    w900 is offline
    w900's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    924
    Country: United States

    Default Re: 0.40

    Not unless you donate

Posting Permissions



About Rigs of Rods

    Rigs of Rods is a unique soft body physics simulator.


Some Tools


Partners

SourceForge.net

Follow us

Twitter youtube Facebook RSS Feed


impressum